mlh architects & planners is a multi-disciplinary practice which was established in 1972. mlh architects & planners provides multidisciplinary consultancy services in architecture, interior design, town planning, urban design and the heritage field.

mlh architects & planners has a staff compliment of around 20 professional, technical and administrative employees. The practice is headed up by 5 directors; the Architectural directors are all registered with the South African Council for the Architectural Profession (SACAP), are members of the South African Institute of Architects (SAIA), and the local Cape Institute of Architects (CIA). The Town Planning directors are all registered with the South African Council for Planners (SACPLAN) and are members of the South African Planning Institute (SAPI).

mlh architects & planners architectural portfolio covers the full range of projects, including office, retail, education, residential, as well as projects of a specialist nature such as stadia, the cableway, and the aquarium. Our skills include liaising and establishing briefs with Clients, due diligence and development feasibilities, and developing conceptual architectural designs, through to the full documentation and detailing of a building or project, and project management through the construction process and the final delivery of an end product to the Client.

mlh architects & planners have had the opportunity of working with many of Cape Town's preeminent developers. We have expertise in the preparation of spatial development frameworks, integrated development plans, policy frameworks, property profiles and land use management applications such as rezoning, subdivision and departures. We have also established a solid track record in the planning and implementation of large-scale township projects across the City, and for the entire spectrum of projects ranging from in-situ informal settlement upgrades to high income residential developments.

directors

  • Paul Truscott – Architect  |  Urban Designer  |   B Arch (UCT) M.Arch (Penn, US) Pr.Arch PrArch |  e-mail: paul@mlh.co.za
  • Andrew Luger – Town Planner  |   B Sc Hons (UCT) MCRP (UCT) Pr.Pln  |  e-mail: andrew@mlh.co.za 
  • Belinda Young – Architect  |  B Arch (UCT) PrArch.  |  e-mail: belinda@mlh.co.za
  • Terence Twentyman-Jones – Architect  |  B Arch (UCT) PrArch  |  e-mail: terence20@mlh.co.za
  • Allen Goosen – Town Planner  |  B Tech TRP (C Tech) Dip GIS (UP) MPhil UIDM (UCT) Pr.Pln  |  e-mail: alleng@mlh.co.za
  • Frik Vermeulen – Town Planner  |  Heritage Practitioner   |  B Tech TRP (C Tech) MPhil CBE (UCT) MAPHP Pr.Pln  |  e-mail: frik@mlh.co.za

associates

  • Adele Rhode – Senior Architectural Technologist  |  ND Arch Tech (C Tech) PrSArchT   |  e-mail: adeler@mlh.co.za
  • Donovan Clarke – Architect  |  B Arch (UCT) PrArch  |   e-mail: donovan@mlh.co.za
  • Andrew Goodwin – Architect  |  B Arch (UCT)  PrArch  |  e-mail: andrewg@mlh.co.za
  • Wayne Williamson – Architectural Technologist  |  ND Arch Tech (C Tech)  PrArchT |  e-mail: wayne@mlh.co.za